Providing Active Care
for Active People

Outstanding Educator

This award recognizes a member of the Wisconsin Athletic Trainers' Association (WATA) for his/her outstanding contribution to the education of Athletic Trainers and/or Athletic Training Students in Wisconsin. This award can recognize those involved within CAATE accredited educational programs, but can also include members serving as clinical instructors at off-campus affiliated sites (high schools, clinics, other college/university). This award can also include those members who have contributed significantly to creating and developing continuing educational programs at the local, state, regional and/or national levels, as well as other continuing education opportunities.

Outstanding Educator: Alicia Belant, MA, Ed, LAT, ATC, CSCS

Outstanding Educator: Alicia Belant, MA, Ed, LAT, ATC, CSCS

Recipients will be honored at the WATA Awards Banquet, as part of the WATA Annual Meeting and Symposium.

A plaque about 8" x 11" bearing the outline of the state of Wisconsin will be presented to each award recipient.

The WATA need not award this honor every year.

Distinguished Service Award Eligibility Requirements

  • Minimum of five years of active membership in the WATA.
  • BOC Certified Athletic Trainer.
  • Service and/or contributions to the WATA and/or the athletic training profession at the local, state, regional and/or national level.

Nomination Procedure

Complete and submit the Awards Nomination Form. You will need to include a letter of nomination detailing the nominee's qualifications for this award, as well as a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae.

Previous WATA Outstanding Educator Award Recipients

Alicia Belant

Shari Clark

Robert Stowe


Scott Doberstein

Chris Geiser

John Oschenwald


Holly Schmies


Jennifer Earl-Boehm


Mark Gibson


David Leigh


Bradley Sherman


Andrew Winterstein


Jeff Oliphant (Inaugural Recipient)